#BringOnTheTears Part One

Leave a comment

August 20, 2016 by autumnaraujo

Typically my most dreaded part of the writing process is researching content that will help me write a scene in my book. Many times I have not experienced the moment for obvious reasons (I have never flown on the back of a sleek dragon).  When I have to research something, I am positive that my google search history is not only suspicious but also a mix of confusion and oddities.

However, as always I came across a blog by a fellow writer that suggested watching movies to gain inspiration for a scene. So I am going to give it a try! One of my favorite characters is going to meet his untimely demise! OH NO!

I did not originally plan on killing him, but he has got to go. He is the catalyst to the entire plot, that flows around in my brain like a restless sea. So I am going to begin an experiment that will hopefully push the right words out of my mind and onto paper. I am going to watch eight of the saddest movies that have ever been created. I am going to fondly refer to these as “The Chosen Ones”. Most of them I have seen recently, others it has been years. While watching these movies I am going to take notes. Writing down certain aspects of the movie. I encourage you to follow along and watch these movies too and I am always open to feedback on what you experienced.

The Chosen Ones

  1. Jack (1996) Starring Robin Williams
  2. Gran Torino (2008) Starring Clint Eastwood
  3. The Fault in our Stars (2014) Starring Shailene Woodley
  4. Schindler’s List (1993) Starring Liam Neeson
  5. The Notebook (2004) Starring Ryan Gosling
  6. Mars Needs Moms (2011) Voicing Star Seth Green
  7. Step-Mom (1998) Starring Susan Sarandon and Julia Roberts
  8. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (2008) Starring Jack Scanlon

The Criteria

  1. Pathetic Amount of crying. Blubbering being the most pathetic type)
  2. Level of emotional wreckage
  3. Humor
  4. Predictability of the death of a character

Meanwhile I will be taking my own private notes, including but not limited to my emotions that I experience while watching these movies and how they were killed off.

Grant it, I am in no way qualified to make a scientific experiement in regards to this, however, I am hoping to get some insight so I can kill off my character will a debonair flair that will impress the socks off an editor. Part 2 of the blog will be updated and jam packed with all of the juicy, blubbering, sentimental, and sappiness any one could ever wish for. I hope some of you go on this journey with me into our cry baby emotions. Let me know how the movies effect you. Maybe your experiences will be different than mine.

Hasta la vista…. humans.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 190 hits
