Battle Scene Inspiring Music

4

August 18, 2016 by autumnaraujo

Hello all,

I am so glad I have found a moment to be able to write. For the last couple of weeks I have been in the deepest, darkest, pit of writers block. My book continues to play endlessly in my mind, day and night, like a movie worthy of at least an HBO series. Yet, for some reason I can not find any motivation to write a new chapter. Instead I pick and scan over what I have already written until there is absolutely no possible way to explain a scene in a more inspiring, heart pumping way.

In some ways my main character Magnus, may be the closest friend I have at the moment. He torments me when I am showering, or cooking breakfast on a random Thursday morning. I see his battle against his foes, while I ice cinnamon rolls. The whistle of my kettle screeching away is the sound of a mine deep in the earth’s belly as slaves toll to extract valuable stones.

Yet, I could not write the words tumbling around my brain. Until now!

Late last night I was browsing Pinterest, like I regularly do when I cannot sleep, when I stumbled upon a pin that announced  “44 Perfect Songs to Listen to While You Write” by BuzzFeed.

Dare I say, I was instantly intrigued. I saved the pin and slowly fell asleep. This morning bright and early I find myself Sitting on my porch, with my laptop, languidly drinking a cup of coffee in my new thermos (I collect them, even if I don’t drink much coffee). A beautiful view of Michigan mere steps away from me.14074563_1365819890099372_1399543939_o

 

I click on the pin and follow the link to a most intriguing post. Wouldn’t you know… but the “44 Perfect Songs to Listen to While You Write” are literally, the perfect songs to listen to when you write, especially if you are writing a battle scene.

Grant it I am not writing a battle scene, but about the first meeting of a love interest. One that will guide Magnus through his quest. It is a first love, seeing as Magnus is only fifteen. I cannot have him falling into deep love so early in the book, it just doesn’t seem necessary, he is still a tad bit too young.

However, the song I am listening to which is number three, on the list of Perfect Songs, is the “The Bridge of Khazad Dum” from the Lord of the Rings, Howard Shore. The beginning, is typical Lord of the Rings melody, yet, the ups and downs fight for a place. I remember the exact part in the movie. The drama, oh the drama. I am siting here as the chanting washes over me as I sip my coffee and can see future battles that Magnus will have. Tears that he will shed, anger he will have and I am once again excited about my book. I cannot wait to reveal the danger that he faces.

Thus far, the soundtrack has not disappointed me in any way. Songs included are from amazing movies, such as Harry Potter, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Gladiator. Then tips its fountain pen into classics such as Bach, Beethoven, and Albinoni. I will include a link at the bottom to the BuzzFeed page in case you want to check it out.

What music do you listen to when you are crafting, working, exercising, or just relaxing? I would love to know. Who knows maybe your favorite song might inspire me to kill off a most beloved character, or find a mystical land with cannibals. One never knows.

Until Next time Humans.

 

 

44 Perfect Songs to Listen to While You Write Credit to BuzzFeed by Dan Dalton

4 thoughts on “Battle Scene Inspiring Music

  1. Dana says:

    Cannibals….no thank you. Hahaha kinda creepy, I love fantasy books!!!!! I can’t wait to read your book. Dragons, elves, faires, etc. I also know it’s to soon, but I hope you will beable to make movies out of your fantasy books!

    Like

  2. Sandra E Brown says:

    I’ll definitely listen to the songs. I never thought of Pinterest as a place to find writing tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 190 hits
