Distraction

Leave a comment

April 27, 2016 by autumnaraujo

Writing this book is literally driving me insane. I would love to just sit down and write it all out because the ideas drive me insane from morning to night. I think about what Magnus (my main character) is always flying in my mind on his dragon doing all sorts of mischievous things. However, I am not going to lie, I sit down to write and end up googling things like the disappearing black spot on my goldfish named Dirt.

Some back story now, I bought him for my niece and he had a black face, then one morning I woke up and Dirt (as so eloquently named by said niece) was a regular old golden goldfish. Imagine my surprise.

When I loaded my computer with all intentions to have Magnus make his giant leap into the exciting world of dragon riding, I slid the USB into the port…  and sat there for a minute or two then proceeded down the long spiral of google hell.

Not only did I not work on my book, but I googled things from goldfish diseases, to monkey language analysis and eventually ended up on youtube watching fingernail tutorials.

Google is an evil, evil creation. I have even considered setting my default search engine to one of the lesser ones like Yahoo, or Bing. Yet, I never go forth with this ridiculous idea. What would I do if Yahoo let me down and gave me wrong information about the anatomy of giraffes? I can not live with sub-par search results.

^ I wrote this two hours ago! I got distracted again by a stupid game on my phone… I am in a crisis people! It isn’t writer’s block because I certainly know what words I want to use and where Magnus is going with his goofy sarcasm and riveting personality, the problem is laziness. Yes, I said it.. laziness! It is 3:00 am and I can not find the momentum to write anything other than a few words in my book. I need sleep and I am becoming delusional.

I know you are all living in suspense now, so I will cut to the chase, Dirt had Black Smudge. I dare you to google it. Be warned, it isn’t as interesting as you think.  Moral of the story, don’t buy dark spotted gold fish. If anything yell at the pet store that their fish tanks are dirty and they need to take better care of their 19 cent collection of goldfish.

In other news, tonight was my scheduled writing time, topic of choice for my google hell is my medieval name. It is Millicent Tudor. How regal. Unfortunately, with the luck I have Millicent Tudor would not be a royal, she would be a serf or peasant. Facts of life. I may be delusional but I am still very much a realist.

What are your craziest google searches?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 190 hits
