Background Noise

Leave a comment

March 26, 2016 by autumnaraujo

I am a fan of silence. Nothing beats an empty house where the only sound is my fish tank pumping. My son away at his grandparents and not a niece or nephew in sight. However, I can only take this silence for so long. It starts to wear on me.

The creaks in the floorboard down the hall, inadvertently makes me think that the zombie apocalypse has started while I lay cuddled up in my bed with my mound of pillows. My heart begins to race. I wonder if my son is okay or my husband at work in downtown Ann Arbor is still alive.. did his workplace get hit first by the horde of bloodthirsty zombies!? The creaking gets closer. The ding of the heater as it turns on. I stare at the door anticipating a horrific face to pop through the doorway with gnashing teeth… I look for a weapon.

Like normal people I have the normal arsenal by the bedside, a hair brush, a couple of books. A mirror my son bought me for christmas that horribly magnifies all of my imperfections. I am a lost cause, might as well right myself off now. This is the end.

Then my cat Gringo walks in.

Phew! Crisis avoided.

As much of a fan I am of the silence. I think that it is important to have background noise. Even more when I am home alone clicking away on my computer. My imagination always runs wild. I can’t control it. This time it was a zombie that invaded my mind, next time it will be a burglar. Why can’t it ever something like Publisher Clearing House bringing me my ridiculously large check that takes all of my financial burdens away with its enormous size and absurd amount of zero’s attached?

No such luck for me.

Well onto plan B.

I wonder does anyone else have this over reactive brain that tortures them in the silence of their home? If this happens to you tell me about it. I know I don’t have many followers… me, myself, and I are content with waiting.

Good day, Humans.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 190 hits
